Muffin Base (GF, DF, grain free)

I wanted to post a basic muffin base that I use to add chocolate chips, blueberries, raisins and a shredded carrot or whatever else your mind can come up with. I do not add nuts to my baking because I do not want to cook them. SO…these I use when I need a snack for my daughters school or need to take something to a brunch. I usually have a version of muffin in my freezer at any time to pull out for a snack in case I didn’t get to the grocery store and have a hungry preschooler who doesn’t want yet another egg!

Muffin Base (GF, DF, grain free)

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp pink salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 4 lrg pastured eggs, room temp*very important if using coconut oil…so it doesn’t solidify**
  • 1/2 c maple syrup or honey(or other liquid sweetener of choice)
  • 1/2 – 1 Tbsp vanilla (depends on what you are adding as optional..blueberries add more, carrot add less)
  • 1/4-1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted (or coconut oil to make vegan)
  • 2-4 Tbsp coconut milk or water
  • OPT: 1/4 cup chocolate chips, 1/3 cup blueberries…etc. Really anything adding up to btwn 1/4 – 1/3 cup. **If you add frozen blueberries you will need less(or none) water.

Make 6-8 muffins. preheat 350

In food processor, blend all dry ingredients. Add in liquid ingredients. Blend until smooth. May need to scrape down the bowl. Stir in optional ingredients and fill each muffin liner with about 1/4 cup batter. Bake about 20 minutes or until toothpick comes clean. Once cooled fully, cover and store in fridge or freezer.

Note about butter or coconut oil. I like a more moist coconut flour muffin so I add more. If you like a drier version, add less.

This is my strawberry muffin. I’m experimenting with half the syrup and xylitol and soda water.

20140225-163936.jpg

Leave a Reply

