chicken feet bone broth

I have been trying to figure out a good bone broth recipe for my chicken soup because it always lacks flavor, even using organic, free range..yadda yadda chicken. I just placed my huge meat order through my local grass fed/pasture raised ranch and I noticed they had bones for chicken stock….specifically chicken feet! I thought, why not.

I ordered some and when they came they were so clean, trimmed and no work for me. I was impressed. Then I made stock. The most amazing stock I’ve ever had. I am using it to get my geletin because there are never any grass fed cattle bones for order…huge demand! And when I can order marrow bones, my daughter wont let me make stock with them…she just wants them roasted.

Here is what I did. Try out chicken feet broth if you can find a good source.

Chicken feet bone broth

  • Crock pot
  • 1 pkg (~15) chicken feet
  • filtered water
  • 2 TBSP ACV
  • 1 TBSP Himalayan salt

I literally threw the feet in my crock pot and filled it with water until they were all submerged. I added the ACV and salt. I put my crock pot on high until it bubbled then turned it down to low and let it simmer for 24 hours. After it was done you may or may not need to skim the top for gross foam (with my source I have not had to do this but you may have to). I strained it through a fine metal strainer and filled a bunch of mason jars. If you freeze this, remember if you are using glass to leave a lot of room in the jar and not to screw on the lid until totally frozen. Also…label it! If you are like me your freezer is full of different amounts and types of broth so a good sticking label goes a long way. I use little jars for daily use and bigger ones for soup stock.

picture001

20140130-171705.jpg

Leave a Reply

