Roasted Cherry Tomato Sauce

So this summer I had an abundance of little yellow tomatoes from the garden. We returned from two weeks of camping and yikes…they were over grown. I think that I managed to get 12 cups in two weeks from 4 plants! We could not possibly eat that many so I needed a quick and easy way to deal with them (and the overgrown basil plants I had). I decided to make a super easy tomato sauce for the occasional time I make meatballs. I like to simmer my raw meatballs in the sauce on really low so that all the good fat from the meat goes into the sauce. YUM! I will write that one out next!

Anyways. So, back to the sauce. Super easy and healthy (as long as you can eat nightshades and grow your own)

Roasted Cherry Tomato Sauce

4 cups tomatoes
4 cloves garlic
sprinkle organic onion powder
basil to taste (I did about 1/2 cup)
Avocado oil

Turn on oven to 325.
Throw tomatoes and garlic on a parchment lined cookie sheet or two. Make sure they have a tiny bit of breathing room.
Drizzle garlic and tomatoes with oil. and sprinkle with only a bit of onion powder.
Throw in oven until all wrinkly.
Pull out pans. Let cool for about 5 minutes then throw the basil and tomatoes and garlic into a food processor or good blender. Make sure to use the parchment to transfer the tomatoes and garlic so you dump all the juicy goodness and oil along with the tomatoes.
Blend until smooth.
I throw this into mason jars and let cool. Then I threw it in the freezer for later.

On a side note, I don’t add salt until I am ready to use it and then make sure to use Himalayan pink salt to get all the good minerals your body needs.

Leave a Reply

