Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

So I need to be able to send snack occasionally for my daughters preschool class and they have fruit, veggie, dairy and bread days. But how do I send something for my bread day that all the kids will like that is also…gluten, dairy, nut, peanut and seed free….not to mention little to no sugar. You see, I must send something that she can eat too because there are enough days where she just takes her own snack and it is nice to be able to share the same thing with all her friends. I found the original recipe on comfy belly but needed to make some changes to reduce sugar and get better ingredients. So…here is what I came up with. The only thing I would like to play with next time I make it is taking out the egg yolks(so I don’t oxidize the good fat when it cooks) and use all egg whites. I will update when I make them again at the end of the month.

Chocolate Zucchini muffins (or bread, but I’ve never tried it)

2 cups finely grated organic zucchini
4 eggs
2 T melted grass fed butter
1/3 cup honey
1 T vanilla
1/3 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking soda(always aluminum free!)
1/2 tsp hymilayan salt
1 bar 85% Lindt (chopped small)

Preheat oven to 350

Grate all zucchini and use a towel or cheese cloth to wring out all the water from the zucchini. Put some muscle into this…it really needs to be as dry as possible.
In a food processor, add zucchini, eggs, butter, honey and vanilla. Pulse together.
Add in coconut flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Pulse together, scraping down once or twice.
Let sit for a few minutes for the coconut flour to absorb all the liquid.
Stir in chocolate

Line muffin tins with papers
Fill about 1/4 cup into each one. Makes between 8-10.
Bake about 30-40 minutes (and apparently 40-50 for bread)

Leave a Reply

