No shampoo, really?!

No shampoo, really? Really! Well, so far anyways! I have to admit I am not very far into this no shampoo business but so far I love it.

There are so many sites out there that explain the science behind not using shampoo so I am not going to! Everyone knows that SLS, parabens and phthalates are bad for us…but did you know how much they were in?! I recently went through my house looking at labels on my very green products and to my surprise, they all had one or more potential toxin. Even my awesome foaming handsoap in the cool bottle…SLS?! I was stunned. Needless to say many products went into the trash that day. I did however save lots of the bottle to reuse instead of buying new.

Anyways, back to shampoo. So after lots of research, I found some great toxin free, organic shampoo and conditioners at my local health food store. Great! They smelled amazing and worked just fine. Now, I should note that I only wash my hair every other day. So because I can’t stop compiling information, I stumble upon a movement called “no poo” and no it has nothing to do with what you think! Apparently I am a late joiner to this but better late than never. The idea is that we do not need shampoo or conditioners at all…baking soda and vinegar work to clean but not strip. Other go to the extreme of no shampoo ever. Not sure I’ll get there!

The research is sound. The more we strip our scalp of oil, the more oil our body produces. Yup, makes sense. So if you can get through the phase of reduced washings, your hair and scalp stabilize. That phase seems to take between 2 weeks and 2 months. Oh…and you cannot use products in your hair during this adjustment time! So you can see why this would not be for everyone. I however rarely use product in my hair and love to experiment to see what my body reacts like.

For the no shampoo wash there are lots of variations. Personally, this is what I’ve started with.

1T baking soda
1c water (cool so soda doesn’t react and clump)

I use an old bottle to shake it up and when I’m in the shower I’ll flips head over and pour a bit on lower scalp. Do the same for top scalp. Massage into scalp and let sit a minute. Rinse, rinse, rinse! Follow with vinegar solution.

For vinegar rinse I use apple cider vinegar. I have been reading about hard water and how I may need to switch to a citric acid to cut our hard water. Also, getting a chlorine filter for showers is supposed to help. Anyways…don’t have those at the moment!

1T vinegar (ACV)
1c water

I pour on ends of my hair let sit a minute the pour a bit on scalp. I wait about 30 sec before rinsing. But this is what has worked for me so far.

Like I say, I’ve been doing this now for 2 weeks and my hair is still adjusting. Today I pushed my wash back a day to help with the normalization of oil…we will see tomorrow. My goal at the moment is to get to washing my hair this way once a week….and yes, I do shower in between everyone! I just wet my hair or pin it up.

One thing I have noticed is that my natural curl is coming back. I had thought I had lost most of it after having my daughter…who knows, maybe I am more sensitive to things now! I will update on progress of hair as I go.

Leave a Reply

